2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award, Literary prizes

The 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist

The longlist for this year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award, arguably Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, has been unveiled.

  • A Long Way from Home by Peter Carey (Penguin Random House)
  • No More Boats by Felicity Castagna (Giramondo Publishing)
  • The Life to Come by Michelle de Kretser (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Crying Place by Lia Hills (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Last Garden by Eva Hornung (Text Publishing)
  • Some Tests by Wayne Macauley (Text Publishing)
  • Storyland by Catherine McKinnon (HarperCollins)
  • Border District by Gerald Murnane (Giramondo)
  • From the Wreck by Jane Rawson (Transit Lounge)
  • The Restorer by Michael Sala (Text Publishing)
  • Taboo by Kim Scott (Picador Australia)

The shortlist will be announced on 18 June and the winner named on 26 August. The prize is worth $60,000 to the winner.

9 thoughts on “The 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist”

  1. When I saw this list last night I was surprised to see “The Crying Place” on it since I would have sworn I’d had that book on my tbr pile for a couple of years. Turns out it’s only since last March, but it did make me think: compared to most other prizes, isn’t 22nd May late in the year to be releasing a longlist of books published in the previous calendar year? Still, aside from that, this looks like a great list. I already have three of them (Hills, Carey, Sala) so will try to get around to reading those.


I'd love to know what you think, so please leave a comment below

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.